Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

In this contemporary world, marketing is an important pillar that drives a business. There is an ongoing debate between people who believe that advertising pushes us to buy stuff we are in no need of, while others believe that it introduces us to products beneficial for us. I tend to agree with the latter part of the argument as most of the advertising is digital. Also, people are a lot busy to invest time and money on products they won't use. First and foremost, online marketing has taken over contemporary marketing. In other words, people only get ad's in their social websites related to the products they have searched for in the past, this helps websites like, Facebook and Instagram to fetch cache information and provide products according to your search. For example, an athlete looking for strength boosting protein, but unsure, might be fed with the information containing a visual presentation of product. As a result, he might be able to order a perfect item, recently launched for him, helping him with his workout. This is a prime example of how most of the digital marketing help people pick the right thing for themselves. Secondly, nowadays, change in technology is so rapid that products are getting modified within months. Every month we see new products being launched be it in technology or health, which is continuously helping people. Most of the advertisement is done to enlighten us about how it would help us. To illustrate this, Apple mobile, invests 300% more money than any of its competitors, to help people understand the benefit of its upcoming mobile. As an outcome, this helps the buyer and can make full use of the mobile, as he knows the features of the product. In conclusion, although, people believe that marketing try to fool people, to buy product they don't need. In my opinion, most of the population is smart enough to look for product they require. Also, with the advancement in technology, it has been easier to buy product they need and choose quality over quantity.