Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Many people believe that advertisements are tricky as they provoke you to buy things which are no use to you, while some of them feel that they provide information about latest products and innovations which might be useful in transforming their lives. In my opinion, I consider that advertisements do help us to showcase products that might come in handy. To begin with, there are a lot of products out there in the market and every now and then something new comes up. These products come into the knowledge of people through different forms of advertisements such as newspapers, television commercials, hoardings, pamphlets, etc. Most people go through these and feel the need to buy something even though they don’t need it, because they may find the content of the ad much appealing or because of the discount they get. On the other hand, advertisements do help out many people to purchase stuff which might turn out to be quite fruitful and change their lives for the better. For example: considering a person who needs to visit the diagnostic centre every time he needs a diabetic test doesn’t need to go now as he can do it at home with a simple machine which he bought by seeing an advertisement. To conclude, people sometimes may fall prone to a well presented advertisement. But mostly these ads give out information about every product that gets launched and some of which can change a person’s life in ways one can only imagine.