Some people say that advertisement encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisement tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which do you agree?

Whether advertisements encourage people to buy unnecessary things or help them to improve their lives has always been a topic of intense discussion. Although it can never be denied that commercials often leads to overspending however in my opinion adverts on the other hand impart knowledge in consumers regarding the benefits of a product and its impact on their lives. In the below paragraphs I will present some examples in support of my opinion. To begin with most of the companies nowadays use adverts to showcase the benefits of their new products. For instance electronic appliances like rice cookers can cook rice in few minutes thus reducing the use of conventional gas stoves and saving a lot of time which can be used by individuals for leisure activities. Similarly advert of microwave showing how efficient and multifunctional it can be when compared to traditional gas stove is alluring people as it can save a lot of time which can be used for other activities. Additionally adverts provide a right comparison between competitive products thus making buying choice of an individual easy. Hence it is would be right to say that advertisement on new products is helping people to improve their daily lives. On the contrary it is also said that adverts allure people in buying unnecessary items. While this may not be entirely true for most of the people, as per the recent survey done British leading newspaper times global it was mentioned only 7 percent of people in United Kingdom would overspend on buying items which they really don’t need. To conclude the benefits of commercials on new products far outweigh the disadvantages therefore it would be rightful to say that such a practice will only benefit us in the longer run.