Aircraft's have been increasingly used to transport fruits and vegetables to some countries, where such plants hardly grow or are out of season. Some people consider it a good trend, but some people oppose it.

The world in 21st century has marked high rate of global trading, not only the electronic gadgets and garments but also the foods. Nowadays, the most common used transportations methods are either ships or flights. However, some experts think that, using flights for transportation doesn’t really worthy, especially in case of fruits and vegetables. While, others say airway is must to protect food quality and freshness. Every part of world are not cultivating every type of fruits and vegetables, for instance, the desert areas like middle east, cannot grow all kinds of vegetables because of the soil type and availability of water. These kinds of countries are completely depended on importing vegetables from other countries. On other side of the world, some countries are over flooded with seasonal vegetables, even regular vegetables. Due to lack of storage measures, the foods wastage reached high rate. Only exporting will reduce the food waste in such case. If perishable foods are sailed, preservation methods such as addition of chemical preservatives may be used to store foods longer. Although, air freight will add more costs to products but it is considered when transporting perishable foods to preserve the freshness without addition of any preservatives. Anyhow, airfreight is unnecessary and expensive, when transporting non perishable foods, such as apples and other long shelf life fruits. Also the global trading can mobilize the growth rate of country and agricultural practices, when they are completely depended on importing foods. In such cases agriculture techniques and developing new crops are likely to fade away. In conclusion, I am convinced advantages overweigh disadvantages. Air freight might add more cost; consumers are likely to get fruits and vegetables without preservatives, as everyone know, over consuming of chemical will have adverse effect on health.