Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisement tell us about new product that may improve our lives. Which view

Advertisements have become an inevitable part in the modern society. Some sections of individuals think that the promotion of business in various media inspires people to buy those products, while others think that it can help increase the quality of the life by educating people about the recent innovations and latest products in the market. This essay will discuss both these views and argue why the advertisements can be a motivation for people, to spend on items that they do not want. Even though the commercials are one of the ways to educate the masses about a new product or innovation, there are other better ways for the company to adopt. For instance, there are various blog catering to different industries, wherein passionate people can get to know the specifications of the latest products. Additionally, by advertisements, the sole intention of the company is to drive sales of its products. For example, it is widely known that the television ad campaigns are an effective way for the corporations to increase their revenue and not to increase consciousness among people. In comparison, because of the pure marketing brilliance, it instills a sense of desire in its viewers, who in turn would spend their hard earned money on it. One clear such example is that everywhere, the sales of products not advertised will be lower than any other comparable products, which has been promoted in the market. Further, commercials can bring about recognition of the product among the people and repeated viewing can instil a feeling, to try out the products. To illustrate, it has been shown in a recent study that people would opt for brands they know rather than any other new product. To conclude, I believe that the commercials can motivate the commoners to buy products that they do not want. Hence, they serve the purposes of the companies to drive growth and not for informing people about new innovations and product launches in the market.