Some people say that a country should produce food locally, while others believe that it is good to import food. Give your opinion and relevant examples.

With the advancement of science and technology and globalization of trade, many people believe that more choices are available these days. The question is tricky to answer because whether it is a positive or negative change would depend upon the field or commodity being discussed. In my opinion, it is beneficial to have multiple options for treatment and food, for example, while too many choices can create problems in some other areas. In the field of medicine, multiple modalities are now present to cater for an ailment. If one talks about surgery for cancer treatment, for instance, a few decades back the option was a surgical procedure with severe postoperative pain, large scars, infections, and other complications. Now multiple options are present, which are tailored according to the requirements of the patient like minimally invasive and robotic surgical techniques with a decrease in post-operative pain, scarring, and other complications. Therefore, it is advantageous to have more options in this field. Similarly, it is always great to have a variety of food according to one's choice. With the ubiquitous availability of different sorts of delicacies, now everyone can get it according to his or her taste even if one is in a foreign country. For instance, in London, various restaurants are offering all sorts of Indian, Continental, Italian, Chinese and fast foods. So everyone can select it according to one's choice under one roof. Admittedly, there are areas where too many choices would do more harm. One such example is computer games. The Children would spend a whole day in front of screens due to a variety of games, which is not only detrimental to their health but also deleterious for their studies. To conclude, although there may be some drawbacks of having too many choices, it can be of great help in fields like health and food.