Some people think that it is good for a country’s culture to import foreign movies and TV programs. Others say it is better to produce these locally.

Choosing the appropriate origin of films and television channels to broadcast raises an awareness. Some people are in favor of oversea movies and programmes, the others is keen on national ones. This essay will discuss both views and show that national channels have more benefits for one’s culture. On one hand, foreign movies and TV programmes are advantegeous for many purposes. First of all, it helps us to broaden our mind about other nations. Documentary programmes from other countries not only informs us about the life condition of foreigns but also teach us about how they live and keep their cultural traditions. In this way, we can adopt some helpful ideas to diversify our cultures without losing the essence. Besides, from the differences between cultures, we can also learn how to improve our culture to adapt the modern world. Secondly, those programmes are quite useful sources for studying foreign languages. Consequently, it will be less complicated for us to introduce directly our cultures to international friends. On the other hand, domestic movies and TV programmes benefit the culture in several ways when the media is originated from their country. By broadcasting sounds and images, mass media is a good means to educate young generations about their precious long-term national cultures. If the young has no love with their the traditional customs and no dedication is shown to help protect, their exceptional cultures will face with danger of extinction. In addition, national entertainments are also more suitable for the young to maintain their national values. For examples, in many music shows, the performers dress immodestly can badly affect the lifestyle of young people living in the Eastern countries with the preference of elegance. In conclusion, national channels and films are better ways to keep the charactertistics of one’s culture in comparison with oversea-imported programmes. However, the broadcast station should choose widely the ratio of national to foreign programmes (7 to 3 as an example) in the help of diverse but also distinct cultures.