Some people say that a country should produce food locally, while others believe that it is good to import food. Give your opinion and relevant examples.

Nowadays, a lot of countries import their food. People have divided views on whether nations should source food locally or import it. This essay will argue why it is a good idea for governments to produce their own food. For centuries, countries have been importing various food items from other countries. Some sections of the society think that is the only way to fulfill the rising demand of certain items. Moreover, importing food items that are not locally grown allows the people of a nation to taste and make use of them. For instance, India is the largest producer of sugar, but to fulfill the needs of its ever growing population, it has to import a huge amount of sugar. These few reasons have strengthened the notion of getting products from other nations. Despite the above reasons, the idea of importing food products is completely misconstructed. Imported food items are cold stored and travel long distances, thus they lose their freshness and nutrients, while locally grown produce is always fresh. Also, the fact that foreign items lure the modern public makes it hard for the local farmers to sell their produce and earn their livelihood, often leading them into debts or forcing them to take up other professions. A recent study done by Harvard University has shown that local produce on average is seventy percent more fresh and healthier than the imports. Overall, the concept of sourcing food from other nations is completely flawed. To conclude, people have different views when it comes to food being produced locally versus imported. This essay argued why it is rational for countries to consume home-grown products instead of importing it from outside. In my opinion, imported food is stale and selling it discourages the farmers of a community.