Nowadays children mostly spend time playing computer games rather than sports. What is the reason for this? it is a negative or positive development.

In the past, youngsters used to spend their free time playing outside in the fresh air, whereas in this day and age, they tend to be glued to their gadgets every waking moment. Urbanization and modernization have replaced outdoor games with indoor games. I strongly agree that this is a negative development that affects the physical and mental development of the children. Urbanization has eliminated public playgrounds from cities and towns. Thanks to the development of all those housing complexes and shopping centres, the cities have become more congested than ever, leaving no room for the little ones o enjoy outdoor games like cricket or football. Since playing such sports in narrow streets cause disturbance to apartment dwellers, parents are forced to keep their children indoors. A recent study found that children residing in urban areas are less interested in playing outside than the ones in rural areas. Due to the high cell phone and tablet engagement, their intellectual and physical abilities are hugely getting affected. Sitting in front of a computer or a gaming console for hours can affect the eyesight of the children and make them obese. Studies have shown that physical activities help the development of cognitive abilities like decision making and problem solving. In conclusion, video games might keep children engaged for hours on end, but they do not help the overall development of the children. So I strongly believe that spending too much time on playing computer games can be extremely harmful for the upcoming generation.