At present, the media affects people’s lives significantly. What impact does this have on society? Is it a negative or positive development?

The media has a significant impact on the way people live their life. This essay will discuss how the media shapes how people think about world events and suggests that this is a negative development because it endangers democracy. Most people take newspapers and TV news at face value and do not think about it very critically. This leads to them believing everything they read or hear on television and this can have a serious impact on how they view the world and can lead to them having a distorted view of certain key issues. Take the current refugee crisis as a perfect example, where the UK press reported the refugees as ‘migrants’ who were looking to swamp the UK and take advantage of their relative economic prosperity, when in reality these people were simply fleeing war torn countries and had no other choice but to leave. This distortion means that governments and corporations can influence the media and get them to spin a narrative that suits their agenda, which is very dangerous for democracy. A healthy democracy must have a free press that is critical of the state and big business and if it does not, democracy will be in peril. For example, it has been shown that Fox News regularly tells lies about the Democratic Party and seeks to support the Republican Party, which is very disturbing when you consider that tens of millions of people tune in to Fox News every day. In conclusion, the media affects our views of the world by telling us what to think and unless people make up their own minds rather than blindly believing whatever they hear or read, democracy is threatened.