Some people say parent should encourage their children to participate in team activities in the free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss and give your opinion.

These days, there is a heated debate on ways to raise children. Many people say parents need to encourage their offspring to participate in team activity while others say children should learn to handle themselves in their leisure. This essay will discuss both the views, followed by my opinion. To begin with, children participating in team activities like storytelling, dancing, and sport, will imbibe themselves with the team working skills at a tender age, which will ultimately help them in their professional life in the future. For example, in my office, during tight timelines in project delivery, everyone in the team, work collaboratively and give their best to complete it on time. So, a child who has worked as a team with friends to build a building using blocks in school, will not find it difficult to work in a team to deliver a project at the office. Also, children who can handle themselves when they are in solitude will inculcate the ability to work independently and this will help them in the future professional career. For instance, during crisis moment, when there is nobody to help with the project at the office, we need to work independently and deliver the work on time. So, time spent on self-learning and will benefit the child all their life. To conclude, both views about parents encouraging team activities or self-learning are focused to improve children eventually. In my view, team activities and self-learning both are equally important in upbringing a child. In the absence of either of the learnings for children would lead to dire consequences.