formal exams are used to assess students at the end of each semester in many countries. why are these exams used by schools and universities? what other types of assessment are possible?

In many countries, formal exams are considered into account to assess students at the end of the semester. These exams are used by schools and Universites because these were the traditional way of assessing students on the basis of what they learnt in that particular academic semester. The other possible types of assessment are; including a project in each semester, which evaluates the capability of individuals and the other one is contributing new ideas to research and development department. To begin with, the formal exams were conducted by schools and universities to check student's ability on various subjects at the end of the academic year. More importantly, by this method students can evaluate whether he or she is progressing. For an example, I wrote my final year exams twice because I failed in all subjects. As a result, I could not get my degree on time. Therefore, these tests helped me to progress to the next level. It is for these reasons that this is the best way to check performance of students. On the other hand, these are not only the way to test them in academics. There are many ways like including a mandatory project in each course or contributing new ideas to research and development department. This will help to evaluate students because one has to work hard to give new inputs to the project. For an instance, when I was working as an intern where my performance at the project was on probation but not based on tests. It is for these reasons that this is the one of the ways to check performance of students. All around the world, students take formal exams every year. Formal exams are used to evaluate the student's knowledge based on what they learnt. In spite of following traditional approach, there are many ways to examine the students.