Memorising facts is the most important way to succeed in education. with this statement?

It is argued that memorising facts is the most crucial way for success in the education system. Sometimes one has to memorise, but sometimes one don't need to memorise at all. It depends on the requirements. Memorising facts can be useful for sure, for succeeding in exams, especially. For example; if someone is studying a subject for an exam and that subject contains some facts like date of birth of a specific person, then it would be necessary to memorise the given date, as there won't be any other way out, because it can asked in the paper. Hence, it is useful at times to memorise required things in education. If not an exam, it can be additions to one's knowledge as well, which can come handy later in life as well. Sometimes memorising may not be needed at all, as getting an idea about a thing may be enough, like knowing the basic concepts. For example; when I was in 12th grade, we had to study Great Expectations novel as part of our English subject course, therefore, we used to read it only, without memorising it, in order to understand the main message it conveyed. We didn't memorise the dates and names of the places. Therefore, this shows sometimes one doesn't need to memorise in order to succeed. In conclusion, it all depends on the needs of various subjects in the educational world. Memorising facts is not necessary, as it is sometimes enough to just get the message, rather than learning it blindly.