Some people say it is a waste of time when you plan for the future. It is more important to focus on the present.

The debate that we should focus on the present or the future is an everlasting one. Although some people think that planning is the key to a successful life, others argue that we should only focus on the present without worrying about the future. I personally believe that planning makes it easier for people to channelize their energy, resources, mind, and efforts to achieve their goal. Most people around the world, with a few exceptions, envision a decent, peaceful, and luxurious life. Even though planning is a time-consuming and a tedious process, it is important to plan in order to achieve a goal. The planning strategy also depends on the goal. For long term career goals, it is important that the planning starts when the kid is in still in school. It helps the child identify the sequence of steps that must be followed to achieve the goal. It aids to organize thoughts, develop skills, and enhance motivation. For instance, Aisha wanted to be a police officer. Since her goal was clear, she went to a counsellor who advised her to read textbooks and focus on current affairs needed to qualify the exam. Following the guidance, Aisha streamlined her efforts and qualified the exam in her first attempt. On the other hand, John, who was also an aspiring police officer, went to the same counsellor for advice. Although he had a brilliant academic record, he did not execute the plan suggested by the counsellor and failed to qualify the exam. These examples, therefore emphasize the importance of career planning. In addition to long-term goals, planning also plays a strategic role when it comes to achieving short term daily, weekly, or monthly targets. For example, John is a business development executive who has been tasked to achieve a 20 % increase in their sales by the end of the month. In order to achieve his target, he planned his day-to-day activities which made it easier for him to manage his time, focus on important matters, and consequently achieve the necessary goal. As highlighted above through these illustrations, planning is a key ingredient for both long-term and short-term goals and is mandatory for those who want to lead a successful life.