In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Now-a-days adults are motivating teenage people to work or travel after completion of studies in school rather than joining for higher studies in college. There are both merits and demerits for teenage students who do this and we will discuss this. Firstly the main advantage is students can become independent. This helps them to be active every time, and encourages them how to be successful in society and also can choose their career to achieve a goal. For instance, if the individual shows interest in maths and works in any companies which related to construction department, he can find a way to choose his goal in a particular subject without any restrictions. Furthermore this built individuality in young age and no need to depend on others in some circumstances. On the other hand, demerits are children getting habituated to earn money at a very small age and becomes independent as a result might not show interest to continue studies and towards society he cannot show his gratitude. Once if teenage people start earning money, in some cases not listens to parents and unnecessarily indulges in activities which related to not good for them. Furthermore, due to continuous work and not pursuing studies leads to decrease in knowledge level. This makes children to be inactive in studies. Overall, there are both pros and cons for students, if earlier they find making money without continuing higher studies can show disinterest towards pursuing studies and in the future can regret this decision. Perhaps, one should see demerits than merits.