Some people say it is a good idea for all employees to wear a uniform at work

Whether employees should follow a strict dress code and wear a uniform is a matter of heated discussion up to now. While some argue that wearing a uniform will give the impression of discipline and coordination in a workplace, others argue that wearing the same cloths, especially on a long run, could lead to unwanted psychological effects on employees. Although the former group suggests some valid points, I strongly believe that taking the staff’s feelings about their workplace is crucially important and should be the first priority of a company. Many corporations, especially the ones that receive clients on a daily basis, are fond of the idea of unique appearance and believe it would create a better picture of their company. Airlines, with their fancy and chic uniforms, are one of those workplaces that dictate dress code and they expect absolute conformity to it. As a result, female flight attendances usually complain about the fact that they are obliged to wear high-hill shoes or miniskirts for long working hours. Although some companies take their employees’ comfort into account while choosing a uniform, it is not the only challenge that staff are facing in such workplaces. We, human, are fond of changes and we dislike routines. People may not have always the option to change their job when they feel bored with the routines, but their appearance is one thing that they should be free to make decisions about. Having a day-in-day-out job can be frustrating to many and wearing the same clothes to work every day, undoubtedly, can contribute to minor depressions. A study documented that while choosing a job, both male and female staff, rather look for workplaces that give them the freedom of appearance and they have stated that between an equally good job offers, they will choose the one that would not dictate any sort of dress code. Some workplaces such as hospitals have no choice but to define some dress code so patients and clients would know the role each employee is playing in the system. There is no workaround in such workplaces, yet, it is still plausible to have employee’s best interest in mind and consider their satisfaction and comfort when choosing a uniform; As otherwise, no matter how beautifully the staff are dressed, they would not function in a coordinated and disciplinary manner.