Many companies and some organizations require their employees to wear uniform. Which jobs is wearing of uniform good for? What are the disadvantages of wearing uniform to work?

Throughout the history of mankinds, a lingering social discussion has revolved around the presence of uniform in work places. Although wearing a certain outfit in some particular occupations is usually deemed beneficial, there are some considerable drawbacks that it can bring about. This essay will elaborate on this topic with regard to the two above-mentioned points. On the one hand, unarguably, an inflexible set of clothes is advantageous in some jobs related directly to government, public administration, legal corrections or security such as military, police office, lawmakers or law-enforcement officer…. The first thing to note is that uniform, in these aforementioned cases, is considered as implicitly representative of the national duty and legitimate power. Therefore, utilizing this kind of clothing in the military, for instance, can be likely to illustrate and symbolize the honour, responsibility and thus, from that, serve a role as an enduring reminder for soldiers about their lofty assignment. Likewise, in addition to the fact that wearing a constant set of clothes on a daily basis help police officer gain confidence whenever facing public or competing against criminals, citizens can straightforwardly differ them from the ordinary people, which contribute to sustain a sense of safety among the majority whensoever witnessing uniformed individuals. On the other hand, there is no room doubt that in some circumstances, this general tendency is counterproductive. Wearing a flat costume on a regular basis can cause many employees feel their task boring, stiff and monotonous, especially in some position requiring a great sense of creativity such as engineers, scientists, designers, and so forth. As a result, when people are forced to get away from individualism, their productivity will be deteriorated and job-satisfaction might be diminished, as well. Furthermore, using a formal and fixed style of dress can be able to trigger various health problems in terms of both physical and psychological aspects. The case of numerous stewardesses is a telling example, as they have to wear pencil skirts and high heels all day. This thing gradually inflicts their discomfort, even muscular pain and lasting stress. As suggested above, people can bring the discipline about uniform into play in some certain and suitable jobs. Otherwise, assuredly, it can be able to exert manifold negative effects on employees.