Some people say domestic animals, like cats, should not be reared in cities. Others say that such companion animals are beneficial to the community of a city. Which attitude do you believe to be correct?

We are living in a capitalist world where we sell a third of our days in order to live during the rest. It is suggested by psychology coteries that we are lonelier than ever and as a result of this, depression is now at unprecedented levels. As social creatures we need companions, however, it is now unarguably hard to find time to spend for our relationships - and even worse for ourselves. In my opinion, this is the main reason for people to have pets since they don't judge you for not allotting time for them; all you need to do is to feed and fondle them. However, some people believe that confining pets within walls is wrong and they should not be kept in houses. My personal view is that they are extremely beneficial especially to who live alone. First of all, as I stated previously, we are spending our times mostly at our jobs and we don't even have enough time for ourselves let alone our friends. Many people have hard times to maintain their relationships and friendships. As a corollary of this, we are now more alone. It is a known fact that lonely people are more prone to depression and suicidal thoughts. I feel that having a pet which can sit on your legs and let you fondle itself can disperse all negative feelings. Secondly, taking a responsibility of someone or something matures people. You simply have something to care for and live for. In addition, pets can also replace the babies for those who cannot have one. Therefore, they can also satiate the need of bringing up an offspring and being parents. In conclusion, I feel that pets are a good companion for those who live alone especially for those who harbour depression and thought of suicide. Their love and taking their responsibilities can make people grown-ups and cure their psychologies damaged by their lonely lives.