In the bygone days, many had skills such as making their own clothes and doing repairs to things in the house. In many countries, nowadays, skills like these are disappearing. Why do you think this is happening? How far is this situation true in your country?

Many years ago people used to make everything themselves and from scratch. Everyone's main duties included building a home, working in the field, cooking and making clothes. Most of the jobs we know today did not exist. There were no lawyers, bankers, journalists and many more. Nowadays, however, it's different. With the introduction of technology in our daily lives and in the production of many goods, the world has changed. People no longer learn how to make their own clothes or repair their houses. In modern days you either hire someone to do the job for you or use technology. As for clothes and food, you can just pop to the nearest shopping centre and find everything you need. In my country, things are more or less the same. It's not common for people, especially younger ones to have skills like these. Some years ago kids were taught how to sew and use machinery at school but this does not happen anymore. Of course, there are people who still know how to make things by themselves but they are usually doing it because they have no other choice - they either live in the countryside or are not particularly wealthy. In general, I believe that less and fewer people rely on themselves to do such work. It is a good thing that nowadays everything is so easy to get and technology is so advanced but thinks about it - if all of our machines broke, who would know how to do their job?