Some people say domestic animals, like cats, should not be reared in cities. Others say that such companion animals are beneficial to the community of a city. Which attitude do you believe to be correct?

Domestic animals have been people's companions for thousands of years. Nowadays many people have dog, cats, fish and even more exotic pets at their homes in the city. There are a lot of advantages of having a pet; however, there are also some disadvantages. My opinion is that having a domestic animal is something which can highly benefit you and your family's overall health and happiness even if you are living in the city. That’s why the city people should also be able to have pets in their homes. There are many people who consider pets as threats to people's health. Of course, they can be right but that depends on how they are treating the animals and how much care they are putting to foster them. If you do not treat your pet correctly or do not look after it with enough care, it can become a threat to you and the people around you. It is common for dogs to become aggressive if they're being abused or taught to be violent in some way. Also, if you don't take your pet to the vet regularly or you don't clean them well enough they can spread diseases some of which could be really dangerous to people. Despite these disadvantages having a domestic animal could make your life considerably better. It has been scientifically proven that having a pet makes you happier, more positive and optimistic. For example, buying your children a pet can make them realise what it's like to look after someone and therefore learn how to be more responsible. Pets are also highly suggested for elderly people of the city area because they could help them not feeling lonely and depressed and benefit their overall mental health. In general, I think that having a pet is an amazing experience and there should not be any restriction whether city people can have them or not. They can cure people’s loneliness; make them happier and more responsible. No matter if you're a young person or an older living in an urban area or in a metropolitan city, having a pet is something I would always recommend.