Some people say death penalty should not be given even to murderers. They are of the option that putting in prison for a long time is a better way of punishment. What is your opinion?

It is the belief of few people that even the murderers not be punished with death sentence but be termed with prolonged duration of imprisonment. I completely agree with this view as many first-time convicts commit crimes without any real criminal intention and deserve a chance for rehabilitation. Not all but many first-time law offenders, be it a thief or murderer, commit offenses without the intention to do so. People often violate law as a need of the minute, and same is the case with some serious offenses, too. Being left out without any choice than to commit the crime, despite knowing its results, makes people criminals circumstantially. The Times has reported that 90% of convicted murderers in Michigan prisons are first timers, and their case files, too, have not suggested of intentions and plans beforehand. Thus, the majority of convicts do not deserve life ending punishments, rather an increased duration of imprisonment. That being said, rehabilitation during the period of prison life allows these convicts to realise the magnitude of their mistakes. Since most of them are new to committing crimes and are aware of the consequences of violation of law, chances of them being prevented from repeating the offences is quite high, unlike serial law breakers. This is supported by a study conducted by Oxford University in New York prison, in which they claim that as prisoners made to undergo more hours of rhabilitation program, less number of them have repeated the offense after their release and, consequently, proving the effectiveness of rehabilitation during imprisonment. To conclude, many people believe that death sentences should not be offered to any criminal regardless of the seriousness of their crime, but they prefer longer duration as punishment as it provides time for realisation and rehabilitation. I, too, believe in the same