By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilty of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers. with this statement?

As the serious crime has increased rapidly over the last decades, the argument of which is the proper punishment of those who committed murder crimes, has also risen. Some people believe that society would become a participant in the crime by killing the murderer, and that setting them in prison is a better penalty. However, I disagree with putting killers in jail as a proper punishment. In this essay I will outline some reasons for that. Firstly, the justice cannot be applied by maintaining the life of murderers. Since the death penalty is for those who kill on purpose and consistency, letting them alive cannot be considered as a suitable response for what they have committed. They have not taken the life of victims only, but those victims’ families and friends are also suffering. Retaining the rights of those cannot be applied without taking the life of the murderers. Moreover, the amount of the government’s budget specified for prisoners and crime prevention will increase by applying the prison punishment for those committing murders. A huge amount of money is already being spent in providing facilities and healthcare for prisoners. Therefore, increasing them by keeping the killers whom there is no hope for them to get out of jail, is a burden more than a solution. As well as this, not punishing the committees of murder by the death penalty would increase the rate of those serious crimes, and consequently, requiring the government to spend more money on preventing them. In summary, although the death penalty is an ultimate punishment, I believe that not applying it on murderers will result in spreading the feeling of injustice among the families of victims and increasing the burdens on the government.