Some people say death penalty should not be given even to murderers. They are of the option that putting in prison for a long time is a better way of punishment. What is your opinion?

It is commonly believed that the violent content shown on TV and in the cinema, which are the two most favourite source of entertainment, affect the mindset and actions of our youth. Therefore, I agree with the fact that it is the major cause of the surge in the amount of violence around us. Firstly, the society has witnessed a major change in the programmes shown on televisions and in the theatres over the past two decades. This can be easily exemplified with the recent stats which depict a change of 70 percent has been observed in the episodes of television shows during the last 10 years, with a major change in the broadcasting, which is now more inclined towards the adult-featured content. In my opinion, the shows broadcasted on our televisions and the movies released in the cinemas are no longer suitable to be watched together with the families as they mostly contain pornographic, violent and scenes related to crime, which further impacts the thinking of a young individual, for whom all such shows are easily accessible on the press of a button. For instance, now-a-days, the lyrics and the videos shot by the artists talk mainly about the drugs and weapons. The immature mindset of the children fails to differentiate between the fabricated lies shown in these tracks and real life. Hence, it results in more violence as they try to imitate the artists by considering them as their idols. In a nutshell, the episodes or movies shown on the TV and in the cinemas should undergo various levels of screening by the censor board. Also, parents, who play an indispensable role in fostering a child and building his/her character, should filter the TV programmes for their children and teach their children about the difference between the reality and fantasy. This can surely help each one of us to build a better society to live in.