Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

Education technology is being introduced into schools to help children have a more interactive learning, amongst such other useful to is video gaming. However, some opines that its disadvantages are more than the advantages, nevertheless, I am of the believe that it proffers better solution to a child's education than otherwise. Firstly, video games are very entertaining, engaging and educational as it help builds their cognitive, logical reasoning and problem solving skills. For instance, a child plays a Lego game online, whilst playing at various stages, he develops his problem solving skills which is a soft skill that will be helpful in the real word. Also, some video games help these kids navigate using digital platforms safely, which happens to be a life skill. There have been so much incidents around cyberbullying, sexting and phishing etc. Recently, Google developed a series of online games to help teach children to be aware of various hazards and abuse that are available online. On the other hand, those in support of drawbacks are of the opinion that video games are very distractive and destructive which is not negotiable. Online gaming is time consuming and distracts a child from doing other tasks from schools, sleeping while a child is meant to be studying, ditching classes for an extra hour on the console or not having adequate time helping out with house chores due to the gamer zest for accomplishing the series stages of such game. In conclusion, video gaming can have both adverse effects on a child and benefits, but the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.