Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

Many people will be hard pressed to name one invention that has made a greater impact on young people's lives than video games. At this day and age, almost all children grow up being exposed to video games, and consequently spent a large amount of time playing them. Thus it is important to ask whether video games have any detrimental effect on children and our society as a whole. Firstly, video games provide a lot of happiness to a great portion of the population. Because there exists a great variety of games of different genres for kids and even adults of every age, most people will surely be able to find a game that interests them. As a result, they will derive pleasure from playing their game of choice and lead happier lives. Even more, playing video games can at times also be a social activity, where gamers meet up with their friends to play their favourite video game together. However, this at first innocent pleasure can quickly turn into an addiction. Seeing that many people suffer from depression and are dissatisfied with their life, it is easy to see how these people can become engrossed in video games. Often they provide the player with a fake sense of achievement, making them forget about their responsibilities in the so-called "real life". The game "Word of Warcraft" is especially known for this, exploiting vulnerabilities in people in order to make a quick buck. Unfortunately, the disadvantages do not stop there: A great number of video games rely on violence in their storytelling, which desensitises the gamer towards violent acts such as physical force or even murder. While many people argue that adults are able to differentiate between the fantasy in video games and reality, nobody denies that children lack this ability. Although many countries have implemented policies to prevent young people from playing violent video games, these measures are very often not effective enough, and young children end up consuming and playing violent games. In conclusion, video games certainly do have positive effects. However, it is my opinion that the drawbacks outweigh the advantages by far. This is why we as a society need to control the influence of video games, particularly when children are concerned. We often forget that a young mind is very susceptible to its environment, and that is why we should do our utmost to protect it.