Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

Video games are widely played throughout the world. Many consider this video game as a form of having fun and not only harmless but also educationally beneficial. Others believe that the disturbing content of such games can influence one’s mind negatively. However, the demerits of video games, if any, that the critics put forth seem trivial when compared to its beneficial ramifications. To prove this, both the views will be critiqued. First, it is a well-known fact that video games can be educational. For instance, based on a few research works published in the Journal of American Behavioral Psychology, it is proven through various experiments that young people can hone their intelligence and knowledge by playing strategy games. This proves that video games do have the potential to flourish young minds when regularly engaged in such activities. As far as the other view is concerned, there is little evidence to prove that video games can instigate violence among people. A research work recently published in the same journal mentioned above illustrates this in action. According to this work, ‘violent’ people who play video games are naturally inclined towards games that contain violent content and imagery etc. , however, their behavioural issues could not be linked to the content of those video games they were exposed to; rather, it was found to be just a matter of preference. Having analysed both these arguments, it has been proved that video games can be beneficial as they can increase general knowledge and intelligence, and the fact that the absurd themes of such games are very unlikely to instil violence. It is expected that video games’ popularity will continue to rise among young people in particular, and will continue to benefit them in although not so obvious ways.