Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

Nowadays, most people of all age groups, especially young adults, are drawn to video games with the high technology developing year after year. Video game devices such as Play Station Four and Nintendo Wii are popular examples of high-tech devices. Although playing video games can be quite fun, it can also affect the player negatively. I believe that video games withhold cons more than pros. One of its adverse effects is that it is a waste of time. Playing video games is not much of a problem when limits are present, but most individuals exceed this limit. Some people put down a two-hour time limit for play but sadly end up playing for more hours and are not aware of time. Rather than spending one's time on such games, it is more beneficial to the individual to take the time to read books or even spend time on a favourite hobby, for instance, that will most probably lead it to evolve over the years. Another reason to support my opinion is that it lessens the human to human contact. Due to the hours taken on video games, the person will not have a normal social life where people speak face to face. A young adult playing, choosing to turn down going to the mall with friends where they will socialise, can be taken as an example. Modern games have many violent and devastating plots and game actions that can psychologically affect the players. The gamers suffer from various health problems and often are less social. To draw the conclusion, the positive sides of the video games are fewer when compared to the negative sides. Video gaming should be limited to certain hours and the rest of the time wasted should be replaced by socialising and activities that will benefit one’s future.