Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

Nowadays, it is an important question whether we should let our young children play computer games or the games should be banned. While some people think it is fine for their children to play, others believe it is unacceptable. As far as I am concerned, the disadvantages of video games outweigh the advantages. First of all, the possible benefits of computer games should be mentioned. There is a wide range of games created for educational purposes, especially for the very young children. This allows kids to learn how to use modern computers as well as some new information from the educational game. Additionally, for youngsters, games can keep them from bad companies. They can simply sit home communicating with their friends and having fun instead. However, the number of drawbacks also takes place. Modern games are expensive and usually involve further purchases while the game is being played. Another aspect is the time children spend on computer games. Instead of education and learning, kids waste hours online even without breaks, thereby influencing the condition of their health. The most considerable disadvantage in video games is cruelty. Although there are age limits, parents still buy such games for their infants. As we know, there have been a few cases when children took guns and shoot innocent people on the street. The computer games have the negative effects on health and psychology as well. Young students who are addicted to games often perform poorly on academic studies. To sum up, although there are fun and educational games, the most of the modern video games are violent and cruel, and this may have dreadful consequences. Therefore, I believe there are more drawbacks than benefits.