Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

In the era of modernization, video games have been an obsession regardless the gender and age. With the aid of latest technology, the young learns to play games as early as one to two years old following their parents’ steps. Research shows that exposing gadgets to toddlers can cause negative effects towards their growth. Thus, we should realise how harmful video games can be if we fail to use it in a proper manner. Video games cause addiction and this can lead to many problems such as responsibility issues. Teenagers, usually have a hard time in delivering their everyday chores once they are stuck in front of the screen. It creates disciplinary problems as they fail to restrain themselves from spending too much time in front of the computer. They began to neglect their homework and assignments which not only put themselves in jeopardy but also their teammates if the task required teamwork. Furthermore, the vulgarity of certain video games has been proven to be the reason of aggressiveness inside a person. They easily get influenced by the video games as they are cut out from the outer world. The vulnerable group - the young adults, is the riskiest group as they are still in their development phase. There have the tendency to imitate the improper actions depicted in the video games in their daily life. Besides, health problems are increasing since video games are being introduced. Disease associated with bones and body posture seem to have the most drastic changes as people are healthier in the last 10 years. Not to mention, most people need to wear spectacles nowadays to help in their vision. I believe, that these have got to do with the ridiculous amount of time spent looking at those interactive images. Coming for self-defence: the self-claimed gamer once said that they manage to improve their English by playing more and more video games. Well, this is partly true as they may learn new vocabulary in a fun way compared to stuck-up their nose in a dictionary. Nevertheless, it only restricts in vocabulary wise, not in grammar as most of the games use simple everyday English rather than Queen’s English.