Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

In the modern world, computers and electronics entertainment devices have become totally pervasive in our society. Video game, one aspect of electronics entertainment, has triggered many debates about its positive and negative impact on health and psychology. Several studies have been done and researchers have divided opinion on the effects of video games on player's health and mentality. In my opinion, benefits of video games outshine the drawbacks if few cautions are taken by players in selecting the type of games. Among the bad effects of video games, its impact on health is most debated. Studies suggest that youngsters are spending more time at home than playing outside, which clearly has effects on their growth and development. But with the development of newer technologies, newer forms of games are available in the market, which encourages people to participate actively and physically in different sports. Sony Corporation, for example, has a virtual tennis game where a user needs to play with a computer holding a sensor in his hand which works as a tennis racket. This gives the user a virtual experience of a real game. And also helps to improve mind and body coordination by letting the user flex his responses. Therefore, choice of video game and the device make a lot of difference. Another important positive effect of the video game is on brain development and problem-solving skills. Online Puzzles and number games are increasingly being used by schools to improve thinking capacity of the pupil. Similarly, corporate have training programs designed in form of computer games. This helps to make sure that trainees focus and interest are maintained and maximum knowledge is passed in a fun filled way. Therefore, video games have a higher degree of positive effects on human than their negative effect and can be used as a tool for learning and development. But, like any other tool caution needs to be taken in selection and usage.