Some people prefer to spend more time improving their careers. Others think that it’s more important to spend time with family and friends.

People have different priorities in life, as some choose to focus more on their works while others prefer to have more time with their family and relatives. The following essay will discuss both opinions, but I personally feel that we should have a balanced view regarding the discussion. On the one hand, some people choose to spend more times in career development. These people believe that career would be the most important aspect of their life, as a successful career would change their life. They would be able to earn handsome money, drive a luxurious car, live a big house, travel overseas or wear fancy clothes. Therefore they choose to focus more on their career improvement. One of the ways would be by working longer and more dedicatedly than what an average employee would do. Then, they also would take additional courses and training which correlate to their work during the night or in the weekend. As a consequence, they do not have time for themselves and for their family and friends as well. On the other hand, other groups of people believe that family, relatives and friends are more important than works. They believe that spending more times with the family would have a positive effect on children's mental development. They also believe that that people should be close to relatives and neighbours, as they are the first one who will help during financial difficulties or natural disasters. Consequently, many of these people cannot improve their careers, because they do not want to spend some of their times for self-development. In my opinion, I personally believe that people should have a balanced life. It means that people must develop their potential and should also have targets and ambitions in their career life, but they should not sacrifice the socialisation time as well. People should learn more about time management such as setting priorities at work, therefore they could work more effective and efficient. As a result, they do not have to work overtime and they could some spend some time with their family and friends.