Some people prefer to spend more time improving their careers. Others think that it’s more important to spend time with family and friends.

In the modern era, time is considered as the most precious commodity. While some people wish to devote their time enhancing their profession while others choose to spend it with their relatives and friends. As far as I am concerned, there are merits and demerits to both opinions as improving your careers helps provide for your family, on the other hand, it might drive you away from your relatives. We will further investigate this below. Firstly, some people are born ambitious and they want to be successful in their professional life, so they thrive to achieve more success which benefits their families as they are able to provide them with better quality life. For instance, a research conducted in the US suggests that children's who studying in top private schools have higher IQ and are more confident than the pupil studying in public schools. Secondly, individuals who strive to improve their careers are actually helping their employers and companies their work for to be more successful. For example, in healthcare, there are many employees in research and development departments who have helped their companies develop, test and launch different life-saving drugs thus, enabling their companies to be successful. On the contrary, some people are too busy in their work and are unable to give quality time to their families and friends which might alienate them. An illustration of this would be, research conducted in the UK suggests that children whose parents are more involved in their life, live a happier and healthier life then children's without parents or if their parents are unable to give them time. In conclusion, many people may disagree with me; it appears that both profession and relatives are important parts of an individual's life. Hence, a balance has to be struck in order to be maintained and become successful in both of these relations.