Some people prefer to spend more time improving their careers. Others think that it’s more important to spend time with family and friends.

In the 21st century, time is more important than money. Utilisation of time is one of the key factors in this important aspect of life. There is a fundamental debate going between two mindsets of people. The first group is of the opinion that careers are more important than family and friends, others who refute this theory say that, family and friends should be given more priority than work and career. We will do a comparative analysis of both views before reaching a conclusion. Firstly, the people who give more weight to their jobs and careers tend to believe that improving their careers will automatically reflect positively in the lifestyle of their families and friends. For instance, a man who has a good career will be able to support his family in a much better way compared to the person who is earning very less amount of money. Also, he will be able to save enough amount of money in case of unforeseen circumstances due to which he loses his job. Consequently, the family will compromise on this time factor as they are enjoying a life with all facilities with bearing in mind that whatever a person is doing ultimately will be fruitful for his family & friends. Now, we will examine the other side of the story in which people who tend to believe that giving too much importance to their work and careers will affect negatively the mental and social behaviour of their family and friends. They will feel neglected and sidelined and consequently they can suffer from problems like depression etc. These types of people are ready to compromise their careers, salary, perks and benefits by allocating more time to their families and friends. The families are also happy to reduce their unnecessary expenses to relieve any sort of pressure on the person who is earning. Subsequently, he enjoys the life in the normal way. To recapitulate, both the mindsets have their own priorities and goals according to which they decide which one to prefer over other either family & friends over careers or vice versa. But I tend to believe that families and friends should be weighed more in comparison to career and work. It is recommended that this decision of time, career and money should be taken by mutual consensus by all stakeholders i. e. a person family and his friends.