Some people opine that entertainment or leisure activities should be subsidized by the government.

People nowadays suffer from work-related stress and the increasing competition and need for extra earning to support the family have already made their life quite nonchalant and hectic. Entertainment and leisure activities are important parts of our overall wellbeing and for a better lifestyle and increased productivity government should allocate budget to promote such activities. Firstly, it might seem quite logical that when a government already has the scarcity of budget for important sectors like education, healthcare, transportation, trade and agriculture how come extra money could be allocated for leisure and entertainment activities. But there is no denying the fact that entertainment and leisure activities have an immense effect on our physiological and psychological well-being. A small amount of money subsidized for entertainment can actually save a huge amount from health care sector. Thus subsiding budget for the amusement and leisure activities for people is actually a beneficial idea. Secondly, governments in most of the countries already subsidize a large amount of money for amusement and leisure activities of mass people. For instance, the parks, botanical and zoological gardens, public library, sports centre, swimming complexes, beaches etc we see around us are already financed by the government. From this regards, this is always a good idea for the government to provide facilities for leisure activities to its citizens. Thirdly, proper facilities of entertainment and free time activities are proven to be educative in many cases. For instance, libraries, museums and establishments like these are not only entertaining but also offer a huge opportunity to present educative information to the people. Again, the government can actually earn money from these facilities. For instance, beaches, sports centres, theatres and auditoriums could be great sources of earning for the government if they are properly utilised. Finally, it is proven that free-time activities and entertainment facilities decrease the crime rate in a locality. Thus investing in public activities would actually bring a huge benefit for the government and the country. To end the discussion, I quite agree that allocating budget for the leisure and enjoyment of people is quite a prudent idea and every government around the world should do that for the overall benefits of the country and the citizens.