Some people like to shop in large grocery stores and department stores. Other people prefer to shop in small specialty stores or shops. Which do you prefer? Explain why.

Fossil fuels like coal, oil and natural gas are the primary source of energy in the world. These fuels have fuelled almost all major industries and economies across the globe. Sadly, there are no international rules to control the amount of fossil fuels used in any region of the world. Many experts have proposed the formation of an international board to address this issue. I strongly agree with this view. To begin with, the world has overused fossil fuels without paying attention to their detrimental effects on our natural environment. Global warming and soaring air pollution levels have become a threat to our planet and our existence. All nations are experiencing a change in their climate. Their citizens are suffering from diseases caused by hazardous air pollutants. Unquestionably, these are international problems and resolving them is beyond the capacity of any one nation. Furthermore, the reservoirs of coal, crude oil and natural gas are depleting at a rate faster than ever before. The day when these sources will not be able to support us is not very far. In fact, declining production levels have already weakened the economies of some major oil producing countries. Other countries are also witnessing an economic downturn. The situation is alarming. Definitely, the way forward is global co-operation. An international panel is needed to resolve the problems caused by excessive consumption of oil, gas and other similar fuels. Economists and environmentalists should form the main body of the committee. Strict rules about the use of fossil fuels must be enforced in all countries irrespective of their economic position. In addition, the committee should focus on the research and development of sustainable means of energy. To conclude, the unquenched thirst for development and the rise in the global population have exacerbated immense pressure on fossil fuels. Personally, I believe that sincere efforts at a global level are required to mitigate the problems that excessive exploitation of non-renewable fuels has caused.