Some people like to shop in large grocery store and department stores. other people prefer to shop in small specialty stores or shops, which do you prefer? explain why.

It is often argued that education, across the board, is more theoretical and less practical in nature. I completely agree with this observation and over the course of this essay will provide reasons for this argument. There are various reasons to believe why education is more theoretical in nature. First of all, it is statistically proven that students attend more number of theory classes than workshops and laboratories across all levels of education. Students are overburdened with textbooks and have to mug up facts and definitions. Such style of education impedes imaginative thinking and innovation. For example, in a recent study conducted in top universities it was found that computer science students spend more time in learning theory than writing computer code. Consequently, students develop mediocre coding and problem solving skills; some of the prime skills necessary for a good computer engineer. Another reason is that due to over emphasis on theoretical education, alarming number of university graduates lack employment readiness. Due to less hands-on training and over emphasis on bookish knowledge, freshers are ill equipped in practical skills. This greatly affects their job prospects. For example, in a recent article published in Economic Times it was found that over 90 % of engineering graduates are unemployable. On further inquiry it was found that such graduates lack hand-on training. This speaks volumes and proves beyond a reasonable doubt the lack of practical knowledge in education. Having considered a range of arguments, I have come to the conclusion that, in the current state of affairs, education is more theoretical in nature. From unimaginative thinking to low employment readiness, lack of practical skills is glaringly visible in education system.