Some people get into debt by buying things they don't need and can't afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

It is now a known fact that buying things is the new addiction of our century. Some people, in fact, take tons of credits from the bank to buy anything they want, whether it's a need or not, until they find themselves in debt. I will be explaining why this behaviour occurs in the first place and suggesting an advice with the following paragraphs. Nowadays, social media is used by almost everyone, especially teenagers. Due to the recklessness of their age, they tend to be influenced by bloggers who share every detail of their lives with lots of exaggerations and, unfortunately, lies. In addition to this attempt of copying them and buying the goods they share, dangerous friendships also play a huge role on this addiction. In my high school, for instance, there was a group of girls trying to convince freshman girls to be more like them and buy extremely expensive stuff. Although these seem very innocent and harmless, they are the major reasons behind this problem. Nevertheless, there might be an option for these addicts of spending money. In my point of view, banks should control the accounts in which there are more than usual outgoings. The owners of the accounts ought to be responsible for these expenses and report to the bank to verify that the spendings are due to their need. The ones who are detected as shopping addicts should have a limited account to buy specific things such as daily products. To conclude, there are lots of causes behind buying unnecessary and expensive items, mainly the toxic social media influencers and unhealthy friendships. Many things can be done in order to stop such behaviour, like the control and the limit of bank accounts.