Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others contest those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit. What is your position? Discuss

In today’s world, construction industry has grown beyond wildest expectations. In most of the gigantic cities mammoth buildings have become a special feature which attracts thousands of people. However, whether the modern designs of buildings should be approved by government before construction begin or not is a controvertial one which is debated by many people. This will be criticized before a well reasoned conclusion is reached. On the one hand, people who invest millions of dollars in a building expect to have a unique design which can provide needed outcome of the project. For instance, the Berj Dubai building design is one that has not been controlled by any government. This has allow the engineers to built the biggest and beautiful building of the world. This has allow them to earn millions dollars in revenue in a short period of time. These benefits won’t be possible, if the government implement any control in building design. On the other hand, uncontrolled designers and engineers of buildings mostly consider the revenue rather than other crucial measures such as safety. To illustrate, a research conducted in Canada, buildings which are built without any government intervention are not capable of standing earthquake. In addition, most of them lack of most needed safety features such as emergency exit routes and fire control system. When looking at this example, it is clear that why some people believe that government intervention is necessary in building designs. To conclude, in my opinion, government control is crucial to make sure the building is fit to stand without causing problem to users of the building. It is predicted that more government intervention will take place to lift the standards of buildings in the foreseeable future.