Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others contest those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit. What is your position?

The architectural features of a building are often dictated by the owner’s preference. However, a recent argument that the design shall be controlled by the governments has sparked a heated debate. Both views will be discussed based on commercial interests and cultural assassination respectively before a stand can be drawn. On the one hand, the paymaster is entitled to determine the final appearance of the building simply because it is an investment. For instance, a famous contemporary café in Taipei city has been controversially designed to resemble jail facilities. As a result of this unique and fresh idea, the jail themed café has attracted thousands of customers and tourists alike since its establishment. This point shows the aesthetic feature of a building has a financial implication on the owner’s business. On the other hand, the government is responsible to monitor the design of building in order to preserve the nation’s cultural heritage. For instance, a recent poll suggested that 70% of the residents were unhappy with the development of Bangkok city as the booming skyscrapers gradually diminish the nation’s identity. If the design of building is controlled by the government, the traditional features would be incorporated as part of the regulations. This example shows the role of government in safeguarding the cultural image of its city. From the discussion above, it is felt both show merit and significance for the interest of the nation’s economy and tradition. It is concluded that the final design of a building shall be decided by the owner provided it complies with the government specifications and regulations.