Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others believe those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit.

While a few people believe that the government must control the design of new buildings, many think that no restrictions should be imposed on the architecture of buildings that are fully funded by its owners. I agree with the latter thought as it is the prerogative of rightful individuals to construct buildings as it suits them. Admittedly, there are some minor benefits when the government enforces certain conditions for the common good of the society. For instance, some governments force the builders to have a parking space in the ground floor to avoid parking the cars on the road side. This is beneficial for the society as there will be more space on the road and it in turn potentially reduces the traffic congestion due to parking cars on the road. Moreover, some governments enact rules to preserve the aesthetic feeling of the city. For example, in Paris new tall buildings are not allowed to maintain the traditional look of the city. Nevertheless, the state should not interfere with the rights of building owners. As private property owners, people are entitled to erect buildings, according to their own taste as long as it is not causing any inconvenience to the general public. Furthermore, the authority should not restrict the artistic freedom of the architects and the home owners. To illustrate, if Saudi government had imposed resting on building Burj Khalifa based on its planned height, we would not have got the world's tallest building which is an engineering marvel. To conclude, owners of the building must be granted every right to design the building of their choice as long as the basic government rules are followed. Snatching the right of artistic freedom would be detrimental for the development of all forms of art, including architecture.