Some people feel that manufactures and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of foods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging.

A huge amount of packaging of commodities can be considered as one of the culprits behind environmental problems. While it is suggested that curbing the increase of the packaging is the responsibility of producers and the store, I advocate that avoiding consumption of excessively packaged goods needs to be taken into consideration. There are some sound reasons why factories and supermarkets have to be responsible for this phenomenon. The first explanation is that if companies change the way to wrap their products, customers have to follow. For example, when all companies minimize the amount of plastic packaging or optimize the use of biodegradable, recyclable or eco-friendly materials, buyers have no choice, which contributes to the decline of packaging. Other than that, it is unnecessary for some products to be over-packaged. For instance, some biscuit brands wrap each biscuit in a small plastic bag before packaging them in a box instead of using the box only. However, consumers can tackle this issue by limit their consumption of products that are inordinately packaged because manufacturers and supermarkets always meet their demand. First of all, citizens do not have habits to bring their own baskets when they go shopping. To make them feel well-served, producer and staffs in stores wrap their products carefully with a lot of plastic bags to facilitate the delivery and preservation. Besides, if consumers have a tendency to boycott environmentally irresponsible companies, they have to change their attitude towards the materials they use to wrap their commodities. All in all, all customers, producers and stores have their own roles to relieve burden on our planet by reduce waste from the packaging of products.