Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging.

It is no doubt that environmental issues have become more severe worldwide due to a variety of pollutions on our unique planet. While, some people advocate that customers should refuse to purchase over-packaged products in order to protect our living habitat, I support the others who argue that manufactures and Supermarkets have a crucial role in reducing the amount of packaging of goods in order to protect the Earth. On the one hand, it is advocated that customers should be responsible to help to reduce waste production by refusing purchasing items with excessive packaging. This is due to that customers are the doormen who make the decision when they are doing shopping and make the decision among the plenty of products. For example, in the supermarkets, shoppers make their own decisions by themselves without being influenced; therefore, it is their duty to select products which are environmental-friendly. With careful selection, customers will definitely contribute to protecting our living environment. On the other hand, some people claim that factories and supermarkets should take the responsibility to decrease the waste by avoiding over-packaging their products. It is obviously that producers tend to pack their commercial items in a fancy and attractive appearance in order to promote them. As a result, this will create a tremendous amount of wastes. For example, many manufactures spend a huge sum of their budgets in designing and producing beautiful packaging sets. As a result, this will contribute to the excessive amount of wastes produced during customers' daily lives. If all producers tend to use simple wrapping materials to pack their items, customers do not need to refuse to purchase the items due to their complex packages. In conclusion, common consumers should play a role in selecting items with simple packaging; while, I advocate that industrial factories and supermarkets should play an essential role in designing simple packaging sets in order to reduce the production of wastes worldwide and protect our planet due to the above reasons. When all items displayed in the retailers' stores in simple and environmentally friendly packaging, customers do not need to worry about which one should pick in terms of their packaging.