“Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (For example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). ”

There are some individuals, who hold the belief that the secondary school goers should be forced to do community works at a free of cost. In my essay, I will elaborate this issue further and will provide my own opinion, which is it should not be compulsory. I will also demonstrate some the reasons of my belief. First of all, there is no denying of the fact that community service is beneficial for any kind of society. For instance, it teaches the pupils about the reality of life and broaden their knowledge as well as experience. Similarly, local community could also be benefited from these kind of deeds. One good illustration could be students collecting the trash from the street and put it in the designated bins. Nevertheless, it is not practical to make it compulsory for everyone, given the fact that, there will be no payment in exchange. This will have some detrimental effects such as demotivation, not doing the job properly and so on. While demotivation could cause some psychological consequences in their mental growth, by not putting enough attention on any given task will put the community in danger and the purpose of that particular service will be futile. Moreover, 100% of the students’ support might even not be necessary for a small community. Another point worth mentioning is that all the teenagers do not hold the same amount of calibre, so picking the best according to their scope and merit is a good way to go. To conclude, I would say the same as what I have just mentioned earlier that we cannot force someone to do something for free rather it should optionally. It might be a marvellous idea to encourage them to do it, but not wise to make it mandatory.