Many famous sports players advertise sports products. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Now a day, advertisements have become one of the prominent interfaces to promote products, many sport product companies are using sportsmen as their face of advertising. However, there are both Pros and Cons to decide to do this. Let’s begin by looking into the merits of endorsements by sports persons. Firstly, players can promote certain products in a better way because they themselves use some of these items in their line of work For example, Lionel Messi does the advertisement of an energy drink, which he consumes while playing the game. Because of this reason, his endorsement of the product sounds genuine Secondly, Many people purchase products that are endorsed by their favourite sports person, which helps to increase the sale, thereby, generating employment. Take Virat Kholi for Example, his endorsement towards MRF sports products helped the company to increase its sale of cricket bats by 25% and employment by 32%. In addition, players can make money by doing various types of advertisements. In general, advertisement companies give a huge amount to the players who work for them. Turning Other Side of the Argument, there are some downsides to these celebrity endorsements. Primarily, this could take away the players’ focus of the game. To explain, last year, Virat Kohli, a renowned Indian cricketer, was not able to perform as expected in the Asian Cup. Some people proclaim that this happened because he was featured in loads of advertisements at that time, which took his concentration away from the match. All things consider in the light of the above discussion, it can be concluded that advantages of sports players advertised in sports products outweigh disadvantages.