Some people feel that it is always wrong to keep animals in captivity for instance, in zoos. Other people say that there are benefits for the animals and for humans.

Keeping animals in zoos has been a trend in most countries. While some people think that this practice is wrong, others believe that it has its benefits to both the animals and for humans. I think that animals should be kept in zoos provided their habitat is environmental friendly. On the one hand, keeping animals in zoos has been viewed by most people as a barbaric act and so, should be stopped. These people believe that animals should be given the freedom to fend for themselves and live their lives the way nature made them. Furthermore, animals if taken captive, would not provide room for researchers to study animals and their way of life; as nature made them. On the other hand, some other persons believe that this act is beneficial to both animals and for humans. Some animals, if not kept in zoos poses to be a threat to human lives and other animal species there by imbibing fear and discomfort in the lives of individuals while keeping other weaker animal species at risk of extinction. For example, the crocodiles and lions that feed on humans and weaker animals. Again, animals kept in zoos do not have to go in search of food as their needs are being taken care if by the attendants. Finally, the zoo gives its owner financial stability as it seems to be a major source of tourism for most individuals. In summary, being that the advantages of keeping animals in zoos outweigh it's disadvantages, I am of the opinion that animals be kept in zoos provided their habitat is environmental friendly to them.