Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

The past three decades have seen enormous changes in technology, with many advances in the field, such as the development of online shopping. This essay will consider the benefits and the impacts on society and individuals of this new shopping method, which has become very popular worldwide. On one hand, it is argued that online shopping is significantly less time-consuming than the traditional way of shopping. Before the World Wide Web was invented, people had to visit different shops in order to find the exact product they were looking for, which could take hours, or even days. However, nowadays, online internet browsers, like the one of Amazon or Alibaba, are capable of finding the specific product the customer is looking for in a few seconds. This is a great advantage, since people's daily routines are getting more and more complicated in today's society. On the other hand, online shopping has a number of disadvantages. The major drawback of online shopping is that people must offer personal financial details in order to purchase anything online. For example, online shops often require information about the number and CVC of the customer's credit card. A significant part of the population does not trust these online payment methods and is not comfortable giving these kind of information. Another disadvantage is that the delivery system sometimes fail. For instance, products are not always delivered within the time frame estimated, or they are sent to the wrong address. In conclusion, there is no doubt that online shopping is time-saving, yet the drawbacks, such as uncomfortable payment methods and delivery problems, outweigh the benefits. People should definitely choose traditional shopping if they are to avoid these risks and complications.