Some people feel that entertainers such as film stars, pop musicians or sports stars are paid too much money. Which other types of job should be highly paid?

Nowadays, there is an argument that celebrities in our entertainment industry and sport stars are earning too much money. In my perspective, I think it is reasonable to pay them at current salaries. Also, politicians should deserve more pay, too. Hence, I disagree with this opinion. Firstly, entertainers have relatively short time to earn their salaries, therefore, the higher their income per annum. In most countries, the average time for one celebrity to pursue his or her career is only about 20 to 25 years, while for the average workforce is around 30 to 33 years. For sports people, things get worse, they have only about 20 years to earn money while playing at maximum. For example, Steven Gerrard, the famous footballer, started his career at 18 years old and retired from football at the age of 38. Although some retired stars from both sports and film industry can continue their works in other careers, most of them can’t, such as the famous Brazilian football star, Ronaldinho. Thus, it is acceptable for them to gain what they deserve while there is still a chance. Secondly, the higher salary for politicians is equal to less corruption. The reason behind this is their desire for wanting more taxpayers’ money from being “well-known and important” are diminished. For instance, Singaporean prime minister is one of the best well-paid jobs on the planet. So, the result is the city-state is placed as one of the least corrupt countries in the world. Therefore, a high salary for politicians can be one of the measures to combat corruption. Lastly, most famous people on the red carpet don’t have much time to earn lots of money as we usually think. Also, putting more money into politicians’ pockets as their own salaries is not a bad idea. In conclusion, I disagree that entertainers should have their pay cut and think that politicians should have their pay raised.