In the modern world, it is no longer necessary to use animals for food, clothing or medicine.

In the current decade, there has been heated debate that animals should not be used for rudimentary requirements of human beings. I partially agree with this statement. There are numerous organisations, who are fighting for the ethical treatment with animals and ban on killing these creatures for our benefit. While there is still a need to find alternatives in the field of medicinal research. To begin with, vegetables contain an equal proportion of vitamins and proteins in comparison to animal flesh. Researchers have found that people who follow a vegan diet are much healthier than the ones who consume non-vegetarian food. For instance, many sportsmen who follow vegetarian diet show a tremendous increase in their performance and stamina. Moreover, in the majority of the parts of the world, stern laws have been implemented by the governments and the usage of animal skin for clothing is now a punishable offence. On the contrary, it is worthwhile to mention that multifarious developments have been seen in the field of medicinal research, however, scientists are not able to find any alternatives to the utilisation of animals in clinical trials for testing of new drugs. Nevertheless, with the increased intervention of welfare organisations like PETA, it is expected that the use of animals for experiments will surely diminish in future years. Additionally, doctors are not able to invent any supplement to replace the use of aquatic species such as fish are still used to produce medicines like fish oil, which has enormous benefits to human health. To recapitulate, I do not fully agree that it is not necessary to utilize animals for human consumption as there are a plethora of creatures killed by medical researchers for testing and production of numerous medicines. However, a downward trend has been witnessed on consumption of animals in order to meet the fundamental necessities of the layman by the increased influence of animal activists.