Some people feel that boarding schools are an excellent option for children, while other people disagree for a number of reasons. Consider both sides and reach a conclusion.

The topic of whether children should attend boarding schools or not has attracted much controversies. While some agree that they should, others think otherwise. Both sides of this argument will be discussed in this essay and a logical conclusion will be reached. Proponents of parents enrolling their children in boarding schools argue that it instils self-dependence in these youngsters which is important especially later in their lives. A study conducted in Nigeria revealed that children who attended boarding schools were better able to survive in college in terms of emotional intelligence when relating with their peers, dealing with rigors of working with tight schedules, and most importantly, managing their finances effectively. This in turn worried their parents less. In addition to this, attending boarding schools also impacts positively on the academic performance of these youngsters compared to their counterparts who do not. This may be because of the well-organized schedules these children have which makes them less prone to distractions keeping them more focused. On the other hand, opponents of children attending boarding schools opine that it may be deleterious to their well-being. For instance, access to good nutrition may not be guaranteed especially for some children who have specific dietary restrictions and this can impact on their health significantly. Furthermore, some boarding schools may not have access to good health care to cater to the health needs of these students. There have been reported cases of deaths in the boarding houses which would have been averted if these children were with their parents. Also, these children may feel emotionally detached and estranged from their families if they spend a significant proportion of their teenage years away from them. Overall, it seems advisable to conclude that boarding schools may not be the best alternatives for children due to the significant effect it has on their well-being which far outweighs its benefits. It would appear that this serves the interest of both parents and children.