some people feel that boarding schools are an excellent option for children, while other people disagree for a number of reasons. Consider both sides and reach a conclusion

The topic of whether children should attend boarding schools or not has attracted many controversies. While some agree that they should, others think otherwise. Both sides of this argument will be discussed in this essay, and a logical conclusion will be reached. Proponents of parents enrolling their children in boarding schools argue that it instils self-dependence in these youngsters, which is important especially later in their lives. A study conducted in Nigeria revealed that children who attended boarding schools were better able to survive in college in terms of emotional intelligence when relating with their peers, dealing with rigours of working with tight schedules, and most importantly, managing their finances effectively. This, in turn, worried their parents less. In addition to this, attending boarding schools also impacts positively on the academic performance of these youngsters compared to their counterparts who do not. This may be because of the well-organized schedules these children have, which makes them less prone to distractions keeping them more focused. On the other hand, opponents of children attending boarding schools opine that it may be deleterious to their well-being. For instance, access to proper nutrition may not be guaranteed, especially for some children who have specific dietary restrictions, and this can impact on their health significantly. Furthermore, some boarding schools may not have access to good health care to cater to the health needs of these students. Also, these children may feel emotionally detached and estranged from their families if they spend a significant proportion of their teenage years away from them. Overall, it seems advisable to conclude that boarding schools may not be the best alternatives for children due to the significant effect it has on their well-being, which far outweighs its benefits. It would appear that this serves the interest of both parents and children.